Skip to content

Class: Friday, April 24 @ 10:45am

April 20, 2015

Greetings all,

We’ve been in the swing of things with regular Friday classes, the usual 50-minute adventure. I’d love to say there are never any gaps, but I can say there are fewer than there were. I’m teaching a great walking lesson on Friday, a classic. Then, next week, I’m roaming around British Columbia on a grand writing adventure. Wait, didn’t I just do that in February? Mmmm, so I did. Seems to be a writing kind of year.

What about you? What is your year shaping up to be? Are you getting out and doing the things you want to do? Are you taking five minutes for yourself? Is there too much noise in your brain, or in your heart? How do you clean that stuff out from between your ears?

A funny story about doing routine things in new ways?

I’ve been writing as if I was on a mission. In fact, I am. I want to have a draft of my book ready to share with a few readers in August. Gasp, that’s less than four months away. So, yes, the mission part feels true.

Each morning I hope to get up early and write for an hour, maybe two, before the day gets rolling. Lately, it’s been working great since I have been waking up at five a.m. It’s dark and I lie there and think of the great coffee waiting for me, if only I make it.

Then I consider that by the time I get up and go downstairs and let the dogs out and put the water on and heat the water and pour it over the coffee grounds in the french press, fifteen or twenty minutes will have passed before I’m sitting with my cup of coffee, ready to write. And, along the way of making the coffee, I might get distracted by putting dishes away and other things, like feed the dogs.

I can get lost in tasks that never end, needing doing three, or more, times every single day. Sometimes I waste an hour downstairs, having looked at the news on the New York Times app on my phone while I waited for the coffee and then drinking the first cup of coffee while I’m reading the rest of that article and then the next one, and so on. By the time I return to my writing perch, I’m disgusted with myself.

This evening, I have no dread about the morning because I’ve solved the problem.

I made the coffee a few minutes ago and poured it in a stainless coffee carafe and tightened the lid down to keep it warm all night. The carafe has kept coffee warm until the morning after a block party or an easter egg hunt, it should last until my five o’clock wake up. It is positioned now, with a coffee cup beside it, on the shelf in my office, waiting, and waiting for me to pour my first cup.

One thing is for sure, I can’t wait for the first sip . . .

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

