Skip to content

No Class: Friday, November 28 (and Thanksgiving Greeting)

November 27, 2014

I’m grateful today for the power to read and learn. As a child, I spent hours in front of the McGuffey Readers. I went to school knowing how to read, well, and promptly got in trouble because I could. Undeterred, I went on to read everything I could get my hands on.

My dad and I were just talking about this a few nights ago when I was telling him some of my stories. As he marveled at the thought of me getting an idea to make up a story, I reminded him he was pretty instrumental in helping me learn to think and problem-solve. He used to insist I sit down and tell him about a movie when I got home from the theater and he patiently worked with me to help me tell a coherent story of the plot. This skill likely had something to do with me being a speech pathologist (and a #Feldenkrais practitioner) and having a great career. And, he insisted we question authority. This poster sums things up pretty well. 

Given the events of this few months, of this last year, and of this last decade, I’m ready to dive into a new reading list about other peoples and other histories, so my education doesn’t stop with the version of the world in which I was brought up.

Enjoy your day, see you in class next Friday.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

