Skip to content

Reflection: A Healthy Stepmother . . . ends the finite game.

October 20, 2014

The issue of finite and infinite games is not limited to stepfamilies, it permeates every aspect of our culture.

A Healthy Stepmother

Years ago, a friend gave me a small book titled Finite and Infinite Games, by James P. Carse. The book left a big impression on me and garnered a place on my bookshelf all these years. When I needed it the other day, there is was, unfolding the wisdom for me at exactly the time I needed it. Or, so I thought.

In fact, I wish I had remembered this book a decade ago when I began my life as a stepmother because when I opened the pages of the book again, the words leaped out of the page and into my stepmother consciousness and here I am, rushing to share with you.

Briefly, a few of the concepts of a finite game. The main purpose of a finite game is winning. Finite means it has an end. The rules are well-defined and serve the purpose of defining a winner and a…

View original post 623 more words

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

