Skip to content

Sunday FUN-Day!: October 9

October 6, 2011

If you’ve followed my teaching for any length of time, you know that I can get deeply philosophical and go digging for the meaning behind every little movement. But then, just as often, the pull to bring practical and highly-applicable strategies to everyday life in a fun and irresistible way becomes more compelling.

That’s where I’m at with the Sunday FUN-Days.

When I sat down to develop my class offerings for this fall, I thought about you, my students. I thought about conversations we’ve had and needs you’ve expressed. For many of you, attending a weekly class is out of the question. For others, you’re fascinated and want to dig in even deeper. Some of you are brand new and want the opportunity to get immersed in the work so you can really understand it, right away.

You are the folks I designed the Sunday FUN-Days for. They take place on Sunday, not a typical workday for most. They offer 3 hours of Feldenkrais® lessons, a wonderful way to gain some immersion. They begin with an hour (at a respectable 11am) in the morning, followed by a break for a leisurely lunch, resuming with a 2-hour class in the afternoon. And, both classes on any Sunday FUN-Day total $35 if you pay in advance.

This fall, the mornings will be all about the feet. I can’t think of a better way to start a FUN-Day than playing with the feet. This class will wake you up to your foundations and your sense of your entire self. Feet connect to the neck and jaw and eyes, in ways I couldn’t have imagined even 3 years ago. As I’ve continued my Feldenkrais advanced studies, I can see and have felt the interconnections in ways that I hold in awe. What mysteries a human system and nervous system contain. The good news is, all you have to do is show up and do the lessons and you get the benefits without all the wondering how this-is-connected-to-that.

The afternoons are deeper this fall. To me the themes match the lessons we need every day of our lives to cope with the changes and chaos all around us. We will slow it down with eyes, breathing, and the self as “body home.” These classes will be well-suited for anyone, experienced students and beginners alike. We will zero in on what it is to attend to the smallest movements and how those tiny movements create huge ripples throughout our experience.

May you find something you’re drawn to about the Sunday FUN-Days. What I know is that I’ll be there, eager and enthused to share with you some of the discoveries that rock my world and engage me in thinking, feeling, sensing, and doing . . . every single day!

One Comment
  1. Perry Downes permalink

    Hi Kim,

    I so enjoy your writing.
    Takes me on a journey!
    Hope to see you in November at Yoga P.

    Thanks again for doing the sandals.
    With Gratitude,
    Perry

Leave a Reply

