Skip to content

Shoe-Fitting Party

March 3, 2010

What: Shoe-Fitting Party

When: March 19, 10:30am

Where: Nordstrom Rack Downtown Portland
245 SW Morrison
Portland, OR 97204

Who: Current/past students of Kim Cottrell, Feldenkrais Practitioner

RSVP: Phone or email Kim if you plan to attend, 503.890.6865 or kim@kimcottrell.com

Description: We’ve discussed many times how important good shoes are to our health, posture, and overall well-being. Join Kim in the shoe section of the Nordstrom Rack where we can get our hands on lots of shoes and make comparisons, talks pros and cons, try on, and have a few laughs.

Prerequisite: Make a tracing of your feet and bring it with you. Stand on a piece of paper and have someone else trace your foot while you are weight-bearing. Cut out the tracing, label it for left or right and date it. Carry this in your wallet/purse and bring it with you on March 19. You can use this idea for the rest of your life and pass it along to parents who have young children. They can do a much better job of fitting kids who can’t say when a shoe is too tight or too loose.

From → Events

5 Comments
  1. What a great idea, Kim! I wish I could come! I assume that you will have a follow up workshop on How to Walk in the Shoes You Buy! When I was in NYC in June, “High Heel Boot Camp” was taught at the Institute there, I came home and did it here. People brought their high heels (one was going to be the mother of the bride and really needed to learn). At the end, all walked beautifully. We all tried on the 4 inch platforms with 4 inch heel (yes, total of 8 inches) and we were safe. And tall.

    Linda

    • Hey Linda, that must have been a sight for someone’s eyes. And, you must have been TALL. Never having worn a pair of heels in my life, I’m trying to get an image of that. Hope we’ll see you up this way soon, great to hear from you!

  2. Very nice. Great idea. I used to bartend at the Nordstrom Pub in San Francisco and here in SLC, buy many of my clothes at the Rack. Though, I must say, I never wear heels. – Ryan

  3. The shoe-fitting party was great. I’ll never look for shoes in the same way again, and I’ll be getting rid of some of the ones I currently own.

    • Thanks for the feedback Margaret. I’ll plan to do this in the future and as we learned this time, 2-3 people will be a big enough party. There’s a lot to learn and it can save you a ton of money in the end. All the best with your new shoes.

Leave a Reply

